Elizabeth (Crosby) Fomegne ’09 MPA Facilitates Collaborative Efforts at CDC

Alum Spotlight Banner

Liz%20Crosby.1[1]Elizabeth Fomegne is a Public Health Analyst at the National Center for Health Statistics of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Originally from central Massachusetts, she earned her MPA from the Maxwell School in 2009, and holds a Bachelor of Fine Arts with Honors in Illustration (’04) from the College of Visual and Performing Arts, also at Syracuse University.

In Elizabeth’s job in the federal government, she enjoys many opportunities to work and partner with NGOs. One exciting opportunity she has had was when she spent a month in Haiti responding to a recent cholera outbreak. As she notes, “The CDC does a lot of its work through cooperative agreements with NGOs. I worked with NGOs such as Partners in Health and Catholic Charities to refine their grant applications so that we could fund them to set up cholera treatment centers throughout the country.”

How did she know Maxwell was the right choice? “I did my undergraduate degree at Syracuse and then worked in the Undergraduate Admissions Office after graduation for a few years. During that time, I interviewed a lot of students and got more involved in nonprofits, which is when I realized that I was really interested in nonprofit work and international development. Maxwell was the only school I applied to; I knew the area, had a lot of connections on campus, and was hooked up with a good GA-ship.”

Elizabeth attributes Maxwell for helping her get her job as a Presidential Management Fellow. She explains, “It prepared me for the exam as much as it could and once I was selected as a finalist, the person who hired me was a Maxwell alumna. She pulled out my resume and reached out to me directly. I have worked in several offices of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), and I can’t tell you how often the preparation of the Maxwell School has come into use. The whole program is relevant to what I do and has helped me excel in my job.”

While here, Elizabeth enjoyed many of her classes. Some of her favorites included Professor Steven Lux’s class in managing NGOs in developing countries, economics with Professor Wilcoxen, and anthropology courses with Rob Rubenstein as part of the Program for the Advancement of Research on Conflict and Collaboration (PARCC).

Her advice for students? “I have nothing bad to say; it changed my life path. It is an incredible experience where you meet amazing people and learn as much from your colleagues as from your professors. I would say be flexible and willing to work in groups a lot. You’re going to learn a ton and have a great time!”

Elizabeth can be contacted at Elizabeth.A.Crosby@gmail.com.


To read more alumni profiles, visit the Office of Alumni Relations website.

Leave a Reply

