Deborah Greebon ’07 MPA Leads OneVillage Partner’s Efforts to Alleviate Poverty in Sierra Leone

Alum Spotlight Banner

Deborah GreebonDeborah Greebon is Executive Director for OneVillage Partners, an international NGO based out of Minneapolis, Minnesota that works to alleviate extreme poverty in Sierra Leone by building self-sufficiency through village-led investments in agriculture, income generation, education, health, water and sanitation.

She earned her MPA from Maxwell in 2007, and also holds an Ed.M in International Education Policy from Harvard University and an undergraduate degree in Psychology from Wheaton College. Originally from Dallas, Texas, Deborah now lives in Minneapolis, Minnesota.

Before working with OneVillage Partners, Deborah worked for Management Systems International as a Monitoring and Evaluation Manager for an Africa-wide training program under USAID’s Feed the Future initiative. In 2009, Deborah was a Fulbright Scholar in Guatemala, where she worked with the Ministry of Education.

When asked about how Maxwell impacted her career, Deborah shares, “In addition to the skills and knowledge from coursework, Maxwell provided me with a safe space to explore what I want for my future… and myriad opportunities to translate those desires into reality. Regular conversations with the Career Services Office helped me clarify my goals, and being a part of the tight-knit ‘Maxwell Mafia’ means I have connections all over the world.”

Deborah’s favorite class at Maxwell? “The most enjoyable course I took was an independent study on social movements with anthropologist John Burdick. I learn best in small groups or one-on-one, so it was very rewarding to have personal, in-depth discussions with an expert on the subject. I really enjoyed having the flexibility to tailor-fit the degree to my own interests.”

She also shared that Professor Lopoo’s statistics class has been the most useful course: “His insistence on conceptual understanding gives Maxwell MPA grads a definite advantage in dealing with data and statistics.”

Finally, she shares some advice for those considering attending Maxwell: “In my opinion, Maxwell stands out from other top administration programs for two reasons: great funding opportunities, and its collaborative interpersonal environment. The faculty members treat students as colleagues and view teaching as their priority, and the cohort experience is spectacular. I learned at least as much from my peers as I did from my classes, both in terms of content knowledge and skills as well as how to work collaboratively. I made many close, lifelong friends at Maxwell. For me, it was a perfect fit!”

Deborah can be contacted via LinkedIn.


To read more alumni profiles, visit the Office of Alumni Relations website.

Leave a Reply

