Join the Maxwell DC Alumni Association to Welcome the New Board of Directors 10/3 at Greenberg

 

Please join us  to welcome the 2013-2014

Maxwell DC Alumni Association’s Board of Directors

Thursday, October 3
The Greenberg House
4th Floor
2301 Calvert Street, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20008
6:30 PM – 8:30 PM

Maxwell Alumni:

The nominations are in for the Maxwell DC Alumni Association Board of Directors!  Last month the Maxwell DC Alumni Association solicited nominations to fill vacancies on the Association’s Board of Directors for 2013-2014.  We’re happy to announce that we received nominations for a talented group of alumni interested in leading the DC community.

2013-2014 Board of Directors

President:  Alex Haederle, BA ‘11

For the past year, I have served as the Social Events Chair on the executive board for the DC Maxwell Alumni Association. I have coordinated monthly social events in D.C. and assisted the Alumni Relations Director in planning special events throughout the year, as well as working closely with the Association’s President to coordinate internal board functions. My time as the Social Chair for the Alumni Association has been defined by building relationships with and connecting Maxwell alumni in D.C. I have proudly been an ambassador for the Maxwell brand, bringing new Maxwell alumni into the Association and making a point to assist recent graduates with advice and facilitating connection with the D.C. alumni base.

My time on the executive board has exposed me to the strengths and weaknesses of the Alumni Association, and given me a sense of where our efforts should focus in the next year and beyond. I seek to assume the role of Alumni Association President so that I can take my experience and build a more effective foundation for the board–and for the larger Alumni Association–going forward. My primary goals are twofold: (1) to improve the efficiency and accountability of the board’s internally, through clearer definitions of roles and responsibilities; and (2) to expand the Association’s external influence in the D.C. region. I would like to spearhead co-sponsored social and community service events and build a small handful of partnerships that will service as a foundation for the Association’s future. I am experienced, motivated, and possess the interpersonal skills and connections necessary to bring the Association to the next level.

Vice President: Jonathan Schlosser, MPA ’13, B.A. ’11

After spending six years at Maxwell, It would be an honor to be able to assist the school that I have grown to love. I graduated with a BA in political science in 2011 and an MPA in 2013. Currently, I live in DC.  Previously I worked for  the Department of Defense and I currently work for a small defense contractor.  Both assignments concentrated on cyber-security issues.   My objectives for the VP position are to: (1) obtain accountability and transparency of club funding; (2) establish a more effective chain of command among the alumni board. The VP will manage the social chair, communications officer and community service chair.   Further, the VP will solely report to the President.  For these types of Boards, the role of the President should be external communication and outreach; (3) have all Alumni Board members maintain continuity books which will advise next year’s Board on best practices and operations. The intent of this is to limit transition time between Boards.

Secretary: Quinn Warner, MPA ‘11

I graduated Maxwell (MPA) in 2011 and moved to DC where I’ve been able to contribute to the Maxwell DC Alumni Association in a number of different ways. I am looking to serve as Secretary to assist the Board in furthering the alumni association mission and increase the visibility/participation of alums in the area. I believe the board will benefit from my experience serving in leadership roles in a number of community and social organizations and task forces that allow me to bring new, fresh ideas to the Alumni Association.

Social Chair: Robert Logan Kopp, BA ‘13

I am a recent graduate from Maxwell’s Policy Studies major. I just moved down to DC after getting a position in the government relations department at the Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC).

I have experience setting up events and other social activities for my fraternity while attending SU. I would like to join the Association to contribute to the school that has shaped me into the person I am. What I believe I can bring to the table is not just prior experience creating events and relationships with venues, but creativity. While at the happy hour event the other day I met Ted and Alex, who informed me that some of the objectives of the Board is to gain participation among the older alumni and keeping momentum. I believe, if elected to the Board, I can think of and implement creative solutions for these objectives.

Social Events Committee Members

Brent A. Johnson, MPA ‘13

Brent is a native of Dallas, Texas and 2012 graduate of St. Edward’s University in Austin where he majored in Political Science. Before attending Maxwell, Brent worked in education with an Austin area non-profit as a College Readiness Advocate, mentoring and tutoring high school seniors. During his time at Maxwell, Brent served as co-chair of the DC student networking trip committee. In this role, he oversaw and directed all logistics for the annual event, including communication with alumni, students, and the Career Development and Alumni Relations offices. Brent was also an active member of EPIC and Maxwell Pride during its inaugural year. Brent earned his MPA in June 2013 with a focus in Social Policy.

Kevin Wenzel, MPA ‘13

Kevin Wenzel graduated from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill in 2009 with a BA in Public Policy and Political Science. Afterward, he joined Teach For America and taught middle school math in Charlotte, NC for three years.  Following his time in the classroom, Kevin matriculated to the Maxwell School, where he earned his MPA with a focus in Social Policy and Public Finance. While at Maxwell, Kevin served as President of the Education Policy Inquiry Club (EPIC), Secretary of Maxwell Pride, an LGBT policy group in its inaugural year, and was a member of the DC Networking Trip Committee.

Community Service Co-Chairs

Caitlin Horgan, BA ‘11

I have always placed the utmost importance on doing what I could to help those less fortunate. As Shirley Chisholm once said, “service is the rent we pay for the privilege of living on this earth.”  I truly feel that it is the responsibility of those with means to help others.  The Maxwell School produces some of the brightest leaders in our country and it would mean a great deal to me to share my passion for civic engagement with our distinguished alumni.  Since graduation in 2011, I’ve used my political science degree to affect meaningful change in our nation’s education system – first with New York State Assembly and United States Senate, and now as a Teacher through the Teach For America Program at Truesdell Educational Campus, in Washington D.C.  My experiences on the ground will allow me to gain the first-hand knowledge necessary reform education when I return to public policy later in my career.  As the leader of Maxwell’s Community Service efforts, I will ensure Alumni are able to participate in service events across a wide range of areas – including education, homelessness, hunger, animal cruelty, the elderly and at risk individuals.

Caroline Smith, MA/IR ‘00

I graduated from Maxwell with an MA/IR degree in 2000.  My background is in international relations and law (I am currently a government attorney).  I have attended some of the Maxwell events in DC and have been trying to find ways in which to get more involved with alumni association.  I believe that I have some good ideas for volunteer activities, such as developing a program to assist underprivileged high school students with the college application process.

Thank you to everyone for your continued support of the Maxwell DC Alumni Association.  We look forward to seeing you at one of our upcoming events!

Sincerely,

The Maxwell DC Board of Directors

 



Leave a Reply

